Forum › Posts by abdyn01

joined Jul 23, 2013

Really, if you're willing to jump through the hoops to buy JP manga, the amount of effort it would take you to find the info you're wanting is trivial in comparison.

Making something easier to obtain actually makes a very big difference. Sure people like me will seek out whatever methods we can, but plenty of people who would be willing to buy simply haven't tried because they don't know.

So while ease is one part of it, but visibility and education is also important. Plenty of people assume that there's just no way to buy this stuff and so never bother looking. I didn't know Bookwalker existed before this year, and only started using Pixiv Booth a couple months ago. Yet I've been importing hundreds of manga and BDs and CDs since 2009. I feel like knowing something is readily available is 90% of the battle. The actual buying is the easy part (especially for commercially published manga).

(I also think there's a little bit of a moral imperative for sites like this to surface legal acquisition methods when possible, but wouldn't base my suggestion purely on morality because that's always a dull argument.)

last edited at Jul 27, 2017 7:41PM

joined Jul 23, 2013

Generally, the first thing I do after I read a manga I like here is see if it's available for purchase anywhere. If we love this stuff, we also want to support the artists who create it, right?