Forum › Understanding fontified kanji?

joined Oct 21, 2010

For all the translators out there, how do you manage to recognize kanji that are written in a different font?

I'm a beginner only starting to learn various kanji, but I can normally at least decipher them with the various radicals and number of strokes. It takes me a looong time to translate a page, but at least my reading seems to be correct in the majority of cases (For example, I translate a few pages of "Linkage", then check your translation to see if I was correct).

My problem is when a different font is used, or that it's in "italic". Like it's sometime used for characters whispering or such things. How are you supposed to recognize the kanji when it becomes little more than a tiny scrunched mess? For example, I'm currently reading through Renai Joshika. It's going very slowly but also smoothly (Plus it's pretty funny and entertaining so far), but there's occasional spots like on page 10 with the yet-unnamed girl talking about her Princess Hunter game that has kanji in a weird font with some characters that are pretty much just illegible blotches. I can still recognize the hiragana and some of the "italic" easy kanjis (Like those for Prince), but I have absolutely no ideas how I can identify those two complex ones at the bottom...

So how do you do it?

Dynasty Scans
joined Oct 8, 2010